Sustainable Development Goals

What are Sustainable Development Goals?

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, were adopted by the United Nations in 2015 as a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure that by 2030 all people enjoy peace and prosperity. The 17 SDGs are integrated—they recognize that action in one area will affect outcomes in others, and that development must balance social, economic and environmental sustainability.

The health in all SDG infos below are the result of an SSPH+ student training project organized with Master and PhD students from University Basel. 

  1. No poverty
  2. End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture
  3. Good health and well-being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls
  6. Clean water and Sanitation
  7. Affordable and clean Energy
  8. Decent work and economic growth
  9. Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation
  10. Public Health
  11. Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable
  12. Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns
  13. Climate action
  14. Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development
  15. Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss
  16. Promote just, peaceful and inclusive societies
  17. Partnerships for the goals